Don’t give your life savings to some random kid.

Jim Leonard
2 min readDec 13, 2022

--

What could possibly go wrong?

He seemed like such a nice boy.

Most of my investments are locked up in a Bank of America checking account so I don’t get a lot of requests for financial advice. Which is fine by me. I long ago determined that time spent thinking about money is time that I could have spent doing something more productive, like reorganizing my Spotify playlists by guitar solo length. [And don’t get me started on guitar solos. How long does a solo have to be before it gets formally classified as masturbation? And don’t get me started on masturbation……..]

As your financial advisor I can tell you this: if you are thinking about investing your life savings in a scheme that was developed by a pubescent nerd, you might also want to think about starting a list of the justifications that you will provide to your friends when your money floats off into the ethersphere and you try to explain that you are not bat-shit crazy.

Look, I can understand the initial urge to do something ridiculous. I once gave a guy that I did not know, like, $200 cash for a book of coupons that he promised was worth over $1000. Guess what? The coupons were worth about what Kanye could get now to perform at a bar mitzvah. So I learned something.

Just don’t do it. Say no to crypto.

If you have enough money to pay the rent, buy the food, update the phone, and stream the latest must-see series, then more money is not going to buy you happiness anyway. In fact, instead of throwing your money away, try giving some of your money away to a worthy cause. That has a much higher probablity of putting a smile on your face. Try that.

--

--

Jim Leonard

Engineer. Introvert. Massachusetts moonbat. Current song: Jim Carroll "It's Too Late". Current book: Nick Cave "Faith, Hope and Carnage"