How I’m Going To Make 2018 My Bitch

Not with resolutions, but goals.

Jemellee
4 min readDec 29, 2017

While I’m still writing up my Year In Review post for my website, I wanted to share some of my thoughts on what I had in mind for 2018. We’re just a few more days away for the New Year, and I’m going to make 2018 my goddamn bitch.

No matter how big or small, or how life will bring me ups and downs, I will make a difference.

Last night, I heard four words that made me believe my hard work will pay off.

“You’re Gonna Make It”

Yeah, I started crying when I heard it from two different people last night. It came from one of my best friends and a colleague who is on the same path for Twitch streaming as me.

I’m not sure we’ll make it, but I’m pretty sure, you’ll make it. And that’s saying a lot from me.

Hearing those words from them meant a lot to me personally. I guess I’ve been having so much self-doubt with this struggle, especially being unemployed, has taken a toll on me. But having their support gave me so much more confidence that I really need to start pushing myself.

I have to start tightening up my marketing plan and start executing them. No more bullshit and no more delays. 2018 is going to be a great year for me, so instead of New Year’s Resolutions, I am making Goals.

My Q1 2018 Goals / Plan

The only way to stay accountable for your goals is by breaking them down in chunks. Several articles have mentioned that if you do it by daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, and yearly goals, you can take the necessary steps to achieve them.

So here’s my break down of my writing goals for the first quarter of 2018. Starting for January-March, here’s what I plan to do:

Daily

  • Write 300 word daily posts
  • Read 5–10 Medium articles
  • Comment at least 5 Medium articles

Weekly

  • Lock one of my daily posts
  • Write one 1000 word piece (published anywhere)

Monthly

  • Pitch to at least 2 samples or ideas to major publications (Kotaku, IGN, Polygon, Forbes, Huffington Post)
  • 2 long form posts to Medium publications

That is my plan for Q1 of 2018. And I will try my best to see if I stick with it and adjust accordingly for the following Quarter.

Tools

Photo by G. Crescoli on Unsplash

In order to make sure that I am following my goals, here’s how I am going to stay on top of my game. With these tools, I’ll stay organized with my deadlines and mark off my accomplishments for that day or week.

Cork board

I’ve been wanting to get a cork board since I moved into my apartment with my boyfriend. It only took a year to finally find a decent sized one.

Got the cork board at my nearest MUJI store and had my boyfriend put it up in our hallway so that we can use it for my goals, our mail, and to leave notes for each other.

On paper, I’m going to write out my goals so I can visually see what I am working on every day.

The idea of having your goals in front of you will always stay in your mind everyday. It helped me stay on top of my savings and planning goals for my trip to Rio De Janiero last year, and it paid off. So having a cork board and allowing my peers to see it will be a great motivator.

Trello

I’ve heard great things how Trello has helped some freelancers stay on top of their projects and workload. I actually have an account with a different client that I was previously working with and after signing back in, I made different boards for my websites.

Also, this will be my main hub for when I come up with different ideas and drafts for any posts that I want to write for the future. This way I’ll never run out of ideas to write.

Google Calendar

I’m constantly on my phone, so keeping track of my plans, deadlines, and events in my Google Calendar will help me along the way. Luckily, Trello has a little app where I can sync all my assignments to my calendar so I don’t have to manually input them to the calendar.

That’s my goals for 2018 and these are the tools on how I’m going track the steps to achieving my goals. I’m super scared but I know that I can do this, as long I manage my time and workload, this is doable.

Thanks for reading! Send me a clap, or two, or FIFTY if you liked my goals so far! What are your goals for 2018? What are your methods to stay on track? Leave a comment below.

Hi, I’m Jemellee. But you can call me, Jem. Yes, like the ’80s cartoon

I’m a freelance writer for hire within the tech, social media, blogging, gaming, and entertainment industries. I’m also chocolate chip cookie eater, a Stitch collector, and a Netflix marathon runner.

Want to get in touch with me?

Check out my website, Twitter, or Facebook!

--

--