How a Consultant Turned Into a Product Manager

Jen Choi
3 min readMar 18, 2015

--

I recently accepted a new position as API Product Manager for a growth-equity stage company based in New York. As I shared the celebratory news with my friends and family, I got asked this question multiple times:

How did you go from management consulting into mobile product development?

Great question. After all, I certainly didn’t study it in school — not even sure product management exists as a discipline offered at the collegiate level (that may be changing, but a topic for another time) And I most certainly didn’t have any practical experience building products. In fact, I spent the formative years of my career doing all sorts of consulting from organization design, HR strategy, to e-book distribution supply chain consulting.

Truth is, there’s no secret sauce for making a career change. And certainly no recipe for making a switch from consulting to product management. I can only share my firsthand experience but this is by no means a prescription.

For me, it took 4 things for me to successfully move from management consulting to becoming a bona fide product manager.

1. Demonstrating transferable skills.

The best managers I’ve worked with said they’d rather work with someone who is exceptionally bright, has strong work ethic, and a proven track record of getting things done than someone who may have experience in that particular field but isn’t particularly sharp or is lackluster about their work. And well, it’s true. People who have strong transferable skills often succeed in most things they attempt — because they are doers, quick learners, and possess intellectual horsepower. Smart people will get it done. And getting things done is the fundamental role of the product manager.

2. Having strong advocates.

When I was interviewing, I made sure I had an arsenal of advocates who I knew would go to bat for me. I’m not talking about just anyone who says “Yeah, Jen is good. Give her a shot.” I’m talking about former managers who have said “I will bet my entire salary that Jen can succeed at this job. If you don’t give hire her, you will regret it later.” Strong endorsements go a long way when you have little credibility and leverage on your side.

3. Passion.

No-brainer. Be enthusiastic about what you want to do and possess an insatiable curiosity about it. Be able to articulate why you want this job and how it’s the logical next step in your career. Read about it. Blog about it. Talk about it. Show passion.

4. Luck.

Admittedly, my move from consulting to product management came under an extraordinary alignment of the stars. My particular consulting unit was being dissolved and I had 3 months to find an internal position within the company or show myself out. Right around that time, an opening for mobile product manager opened in my company’s B2B space. I interviewed. Then I waited. The role was frozen for a period due to budget constraints. Then, one week before I was about to leave the company, the offer came through. One week. That is the definition of luck. Sometimes, it really does take the right time, place, and people to make things click. Unfortunately, it’s hard to manufacture luck and sometimes that is the extra push you need to get where you want. But, perhaps the 3 steps above can position you in a place to make your own luck. After all, a smart person who’s passionate and has strong advocates will be better prepared to seize an opportunity when it comes his way.

That’s my experience on how I moved from consulting to product management. I would love to hear your own stories or your own advice for aspiring product managers.

If you like what you’ve read, please share / recommend and follow me! Any and all feedback is welcome. Find me on Facebook, Instagram (jen3686), and LinkedIn. Tweet @jenc3686.

--

--

Jen Choi

Head of Product, OrgLab at McKinsey & Co. Tech enthusiast. Retired New Yorker. ENTP. Made in Korea.