Celebrating an Anniversary: You’re the Top

Jen Cheng
2 min readJul 19, 2022

--

Photo by Oziel Gómez on Unsplash

These are lyrics I wrote as part of a song parody to celebrate a lovely couple’s anniversary. I collected the details from the couple’s children by email with an easy survey they filled out. These lyrics are printed here as an example of what I can do for other commissions to celebrate loved ones for their special occasion. Much gratitude and respect to Cole Porter’s fun masterpiece, You’re the Top.

Sung to the music of You’re the Top, Cole Porter

[Celebrating the Husband]
You’re the top
You’re the gin martini
You’re the top
You’re the strong black coffee
You’re a connoisseur from a Beverly Hills way
You’re the peanut butter, a cookie monster
You’re cassoulet

You’re the cook
You’re the Leo Carillo
You’re the look
Made by Mick’ angelo
I’m a funny Flash, a total mash, a flop
But if, baby, I’m the bottom
You’re the top

[Celebrating the Wife]
You’re the top
You’re Michelle Obama
You’re the top
You’re hippie grandma
You’re the valiant fight of repro rights for choice
You’re the bourbon larceny, You’re women’s advocacy
You’re all the noise

You’re Steve’s dear
You’re the truth to power
You’re the cheer
Of the happy hour
I’m a pepita that’s spicing up the shop
But if, baby, I’m the bottom
You’re the top

[Celebrating the Couple]
You’re the top
You’re the sunset dinner
You’re the top
You’re the video winner (*they met through a dating video)
You’re the wine’ry tour of the hills of warm Tuscany
You’re the river Mekong, you’re chocolate’s sweet song
You’re Mac and Cheese

You’re the Crown, You’re folk arts and painting
You’re the town of Spring Training
As penguins of Isle Galapagos would
Go bop
But if, baby, I’m the bottom
You’re the top

--

--

Jen Cheng

Writer. Songwriter. Improv Comedy. Strategist. I write for kids, dogs, and adults. I write for parties. Writer for hire. www.JenCVoice.com IG:@jen.and.potato