Rachel’s confession

Jen Cheng
1 min readFeb 11, 2020

--

Rachel in the MahJong scene from Crazy Rich Asians

Imagine a confession from Rachel of Crazy Rich Asians, how she really feels about her mother-in-law

She thought I was a “poor, raised by a single mother, low-class, immigrant nobody”
And even if I was losing Nick
I was out to show her I am a strong, intelligent somebody.
Not only a professor who could command my NYU classroom
but also a cultured Chinese woman in her power
smooth as James Bond, staging a showdown with MahJong
and prove Mrs. Crazy Rich, that she was so wrong.

Just because they are the super wealthy did not mean
that I was going to submit to her
especially since I am the domme of game theory.

As a poet and performance artist, I have a confession booth I have set up a various special events, where people get to spill their guts and I help transform their feelings and ideas into a short poem. As we want to celebrate diversity, and as an Asian-American who wants more from our media characters, I’m imagining what some TV and film characters would say if they got to confess how they really feel.

--

--

Jen Cheng

Writer. Songwriter. Improv Comedy. Strategist. I write for kids, dogs, and adults. I write for parties. Writer for hire. www.JenCVoice.com IG:@jen.and.potato