NaNoWriMo Day 6: 6,011 of 50,000

Jenna L Pratt
9 min readNov 7, 2016

--

Wilson Lau for Unsplash

Here comes chapter three! To read previous posts head HERE to my live draft post.

Chapter 3

When I got up and around in the morning it felt like I had just slept as soundly a baby. Who knew that sleeping in a comfortable bed was so much better than the floor? With a full night’s rest under my belt, so to speak, I was quickly out the door only stopping when I noticed the gold plated numbers 230 catching my eye. Who was my mysterious next door neighbor that so abruptly closed the door in my face yesterday?

I knew there could be only one person who may have the information I was looking for. I looked at my wristwatch hoping I had enough time and decided sooner was better than later. I made a light, but quick, knock on the door hoping I wasn’t doing the wrong thing.

“Oh morning love,” the soft whisper of Marie’s voice met me.

“Hi Marie. I was just wondering,” I paused making sure I worded this correctly, “are you familiar with the man who lives on the other side of me?”

Her gaze followed mine as we both took a peek at the green door next to mine.

She made a thinking noise- halfway between sounding like a bird struggling to learn how to fly and a cat being disturbed in their sleep- before responding. “Well love not entirely. He keeps to himself quite a lot, but I do know his name is Ryan.”

Ryan. How different one’s perception of a person changes once you have a name. So, mysterious Ryan was either quite perturbed at my recent arrival or merely introverted. I turned back to Marie starting to hear the sound of a door opening nearby.

“Thank you Marie. I appreciate the information,” I declared turning on my high heel in a signal of departure.

“Oh you’re welcome Riley. Have a nice day,” she remarked before closing her door.

I turned to wave at her as her small frame disappeared and nearly ran into someone on my journey to the elevator. It was Ryan. Tall, broad shoulders shrouded my gaze as he towered over me.

“I’m so sorry I was not paying attention,” I apologized as he turned away from me.

“It’s ok,” he said softly rushing to reach the elevator and seemingly avoiding any interaction with me.

I stepped inside the carriage with him and waited silently as the doors shut making a sucking noise before we began descending. Again I was momentarily stuck. I wanted so desperately to start off on a better foot with my next door neighbor, but something about his body language screamed “DON’T TALK TO ME!” and so I was apprehensive in saying anything.

I sighed and turned to look at him. “Look I am so sorry if I disturbed you yesterday. I guess I didn’t realize how thin the walls could be. I just moved in so apparently they are paper thin,” I laughed hoping he would see me as a normal, awkward human being.

“Don’t worry about it,” he added quite softly. What was it with people around here talking so quietly all of the time?

His response left no room for any further conversation so when the doors dinged open I believe we both took a sigh of relief. When we stepped out of the front doors of the building he went left and I went right.

“Good day to you too Ryan,” I mumbled seeing his tall frame turn the corner ahead.

The interaction had to be shaken off so I could focus on the task at hand- my new job. After I decided I was moving to London the next step was to get a job. When I told my parents I had applied for a position as a hostess they both questioned what that had to do with writing.

I have to earn money somehow and as of right now I am not earning a dime from my writing. I have to start from the bottom guys.

In some ways every step I took leading up to my arrival to London was all about proving something to my parents. At times they were completely onboard and helping me find a place close enough so that I could go into the city with friends. At other times they were cold and unforgiving pushing me to get my master’s degree and stay at home. London will still be there. It was as if I was walking through a field filled with landmines and I had to constantly maneuver around their sometimes harsh words.

They were right in some ways: this hostess position had absolutely nothing to do with writing. However in my mind’s eye I could see incredible value in holding this position namely because it allowed me to interact with Londoners but also for everything the Hospital Club stood for. Historically this building turned itself into a sort of haven for the creative types of the city. It not only houses a restaurant and a hotel, but has space for creative individuals to come and work on their content. What better place to get my foot in the door than here?

The crowded underground began to thin out as I stepped into the gloomy afternoon in Covent Garden. I vaguely knew which way to go and only got slightly turned around on Anne Street before ending up right in front of the Hospital Club. It was tough to realize I had arrived at first since the only indication of what was inside was a simple black sign outside with a lowercase h inscribed on its front and back.

When I walked in I was relieved to see hospital club written out behind the front desk. A few people dressed up in formal outfits milled about the desk. One lady in particular was hammering away at the keyboard in a way that made me believe she was doing anything but actual work.

“Oh good afternoon ma’m and welcome to the Hospital Club. How can I help you today?” the blonde left her hands on the keyboard but her eyes were squarely focused on me.

I smiled and walked closer to the desk. “My name is Riley Hamerson and I am here to meet a Christopher?” I was only given a first name and told to arrive at noon to receive my job schedule and uniform. In retrospect I knew it was vague and should have alarmed me but I had faith in the London employment system.

“Ah yes Christopher is the head manager at our restaurant. If you take the elevators to your right and head to floor 3 you can find Christopher there,” she chirped back at me. Gosh how exhausting it must be to have to be on it always. What was I getting myself into here?

“Thank you very much.”

I turned to my right and slid into an open elevator door. The small button with the three on it lit up under my finger and the doors slid shut immediately. When I stepped out onto the third floor another desk greeted me but the atmosphere was completely different from the one at the entrance. It may have helped that the sound of chatter and silverware clinking against dishes met my ears upon arrival but the two ladies at the desk seemed more relaxed and approachable.

“Afternoon ma’m. Do you have a reservation with us today?” one asked looking at me expectantly.

I suppose I should memorize that sentence since I would be saying it quite possibly a million times a day. Yeah marinate on that Riley.

“Hi- er afternoon,” I stumbled forward, “my name is Riley and I am here to meet a Christopher?” I finished with a question in my voice.

“Ah yes you must be the new American hostess! Let me get Christopher. One moment,” she spoke quickly that by the time she left I was still processing her sentence.

I stood awkwardly at the front thankful for a small bench in the corner that I could sit in while I waited. It didn’t take long as my hostess lady walked- more strutted it looked like from here- with a tall man on her heels. Burnt blonde hair covered his eyebrows as a small smile met me in the corner booth I had found purchase on.

“Ms. Hamerson so nice to meet you. I am Christopher,” he extended his hand so I stood and shook it.

“Nice to meet you and please call me Riley.”

“Alright Riley why don’t you come to my office and we can get you all set up,” he added leading the way through the dining room through the kitchen and into a small- and I mean small- office. “Please have a seat,” he added to the plastic chair on the other side of his desk.

“Nice place you have here,” I remarked sarcastically wishing almost immediately that I could take that back. God going Riley, no better way to start out your working relationship with your boss than mocking the size of his office.

Laughter. Slow at first but building into a full giggle met me. I was relieved to see it was Christopher laughing as he too looked around. “You know Riley I think you are going to fit perfectly into our team here.”

I raised an eyebrow. Oh was I now?

“Well I am glad.”

He pulled out a folder and slipped it over to my side of his desk. “This is your work schedule for the next couple of months. I’ve put you on afternoons to get you started and as you get through training we will you add you on for longer shifts,” he explained as I looked over the monthly schedule.

“Sounds good,” I said looking up to find a pile of black clothes in his hands. “Oh.”

I grabbed the pile out of his hands before returning to my seat.

“You have two sets of the uniform. Just make sure you don’t lose them it’s a £25 replacement fee.”

“Got it,” I said looking at the lowercase h emblem on the simple black t-shirt.

“Do you have any questions for me?” he finished.

I shook my head. “When do I start?” I joked.

He laughed with me. “We’ll see you tomorrow!”

I stood up and shook his hand. “See you tomorrow sir.”

As we walked out into the dining area he practically begged me to call him Christopher and not sir.

“You’re making me feel like an old man Riley,” he bellowed.

I laughed and waved as he stood outside the now closing elevator doors. I felt somewhat satisfied and productive as I made my way out of the Hospital Club with the chirpy blonde at the front desk telling me to have a great day. Now that my one task for the day had been accomplished I was left with finalizing my shiny new bank account which would immediately be depleted after I paid my first three months of rent.

So now penniless and with little to do back in 231 I decided to find out what the Londoners do best. A few of the grimy clouds had parted making way for some warm late afternoon sunshine. My ride on the tube led me to Hyde Park Corner where a lot of people were not getting off at. Feeling tired of the crowds I decided to go against the flow emerging at the edge of what looked like a great expanse of green.

“Oh my,” the words left my mouth. My left shoulder was suddenly moving forward as I was momentarily caught off guard. A middle-aged man with a cell phone attached to his ear barely acknowledged my existence as he continued on. Ok, so I was learning that people were fast paced around here- good to know.

I traipsed around the winding paths of what came to be known to me as Hyde Park overwhelmed at the green in front of me. As I happened upon a large courtyard I saw a plethora of people- both in groups and alone- lounging on the grass. Wanting to become a Londoner I found an open spot and plopped down breathing in the fresh air around me.

The feeling of the sun on my face was momentary as the light outside of my closed eyelids seemed to dim. When I opened them a small drop of water fell onto my nose followed by several larger drops. I, along with the many others in the courtyard, rushed for cover as the rain began to pour. I sprinted to the tube shaking like a dog as I entered the tube carriage only becoming a minor annoyance for those around me.

Umbrellas. Each person was holding an umbrella and that was my next step to becoming a Londoner- I needed an umbrella.

--

--

Jenna L Pratt

Author of "I Am Riley" and "Survivor" I 20-something Tweeter @JennaLPratt I English Teacher @mspratt16 I Lover of all things books and coffee