Giving Yourself a Fresh Slate

When something has to shift — and that something is you.

Jen Soong
2 min readMar 5, 2015

Dear friends,

For the past year or so, I’ve been in a limbo state trying to figure out which direction to move with my business. After winning an idea competition 3 years ago, I dove headfirst into creating SOMA Goods, a social enterprise to provide work for refugee women in Atlanta.

There were a lot more wins along the way and there were many people who helped push SOMA Goods forward. But it reached a point where every decision felt hard. And I felt stuck between a mission I deeply believed in but numbers that didn’t translate into sustainability.

Last summer, a new neighbor moved into the house next door from San Francisco. Jeanine had designed and run an uber-successful jewelry line there. When I asked her if it was hard to make the decision to move and shut down her company, she said it was nice to hit the reset button.

Hit reset. That sounded lovely. But how in the world do you do that?

Every morning I would create this seemingly endless to-do list. Most days I wouldn’t get through half the list. And so the list kept growing. All I could think was, how can I squeeze more time into a day?

When the main seamstress I was using on a part-time basis told me she had found a full-time job, I breathed a sigh of relief.

This was a sign that something needed to change.

So I made the tough decision to stop production and turn my focus to Root City Market, which has been growing steadily for two years now and has breathed new life into the business.

So I believe that we can have a fresh slate and give ourselves permission to dream. And we all could use a little breathing room and a lot of encouragement.

Reading the book essentialism (by Greg McKeown) has changed the way I think about success. I literally read it with a pen in hand to underline and star my favorite parts.

If I had to pick one message, it’s this: “Remember that if you don’t prioritize your life someone else will. But if you are determined to prioritize your own life you can. The power is yours. It is within you.”

Starting and growing a business is personal. I am deeply grateful for the friends who have believed in me, sent encouragement along the way, gave advice, attended a event or made a purchase.

Thank you for supporting my journey. Here’s to new beginnings.

Chasing dreams,
Jen

--

--

Jen Soong

NorCal writer. Tin House and VONA alum. Published in WaPo, The Audacity, Witness. Memoir-in-progress reckoning with migration and myth. www.jensoong.com