Whatever Happened to WWJD?

Jenna Luecke
3 min readSep 15, 2020

Lately, I’ve thought a lot about a phrase that was popular in Christian culture when I was growing up, “What would Jesus do?”. Its acronym “WWJD” was on t-shirts, stickers, car decals, and most memorably, on woven bracelets. But it was more than just merch, it was a thought exercise we, as followers of Christ, were encouraged to employ often. What would Jesus do in this situation? How would Jesus respond to this circumstance?

In hindsight, now that I can see all the ways my faith taught me to distrust my own intuition, this “WWJD” process was remarkably uncharacteristic of The Church. WWDJ suggested a way to look at scripture holistically, not verse by verse. To think about Jesus as a whole person, use our own critical thinking to examine a situation, and trust our own conclusion about what he might have done. The implication was that, although Jesus didn’t speak to every situation we face in the modern era, the nature of Jesus was obvious. So obvious that everyone from a seasoned theologian to a child wearing a silly bracelet could think “What would Jesus do?” and come to relatively similar answers.

I’ve thought about this phrase a lot lately.

Because I don’t hear it anymore, and I have a theory on why.

My guess is that “WWJD” has fallen from popularity because it produces an undesirable result. The actions of conservative/Republican Christians (particularly Trump supporters), simply wouldn’t hold up to the thought exercise “What Would Jesus Do?”. When you’re fighting against the rights of the poor and marginalized, when you’re indifferent to the suffering of others so long as your health and wealth is in tact, it would be downright dangerous to ask, “What Would Jesus Do?”. Because we all know, don’t we?

Now, that’s not to say I have any doubt in the abilities of God-fearing Trump-supporters’ to create some sort of scriptural basis for their actions. They can, and do, string together an assortment of verses into intricate, delicate arguments that somehow when presented in a certain order prove without a doubt that Jesus handpicked Trump to be a vessel of the almighty. Throw scriptural references at me all day, I’m sure you have them. My point is not about what you find when you zoom in, because you can find individual verses to justify everything under the sun. It’s about you see when you zoom out.

Looking at Jesus’ life as a whole, you simply can’t convince me of a Trump-loving Christ. You can’t convince me that Jesus, who loathed riches and greed, would have anything good to say about a man who prizes his monetary worth above all else. You can’t convince me that Jesus, who spent more time healing the sick than he did preaching, would have anything good to say about a man who finds every opportunity to take healthcare away from those least able to afford it. You can’t convince me that Jesus, who cared for everyone who approached him out of desperation, would have anything good to say about a man who turns away refugees at our borders.

The election of Donald Trump in 2016 is what began my personal departure from the Christian faith. I had never seen, at least never so clearly, Christians talking and acting based on their own self interest, instead of “the least of these”. Refusing refugees was for THEIR safety. Limiting immigration was for THEIR jobs. Limiting affordable healthcare was for THEIR premiums. Eliminating welfare was for THEIR tax dollars. Allowing discrimination was for THEIR freedoms. It broke my heart, and it made me realize that I didn’t want anything to do with whatever this was becoming. Because it sure as hell had nothing to do with “what Jesus would do”.

I don’t ascribe to the Christian faith anymore. A lot has happened since 2016 and that’s another story for another day. But as someone who pledged my life to it for 25 years, I’m not an outsider either. Christians, you’re still my people. You always will be, in one way or another. So I beg of you, my people, snap the fuck out of this. Whatever twisted, toxic theology got you here, arguing on behalf of this man, it’s time to put it down. For Christ’s sake. You have the choice to support a greedy, xenophobic, dangerously nationalistic, abusive narcissist. Or finally condemn him. WWJD?

--

--