Project 02

Jenna Olson
2 min readApr 14, 2022

--

Hierarchy + Grid

Title Mrs Eaves Roman Lining, Roman Small Caps 45–54/35–94.8 | Headers Mrs Eaves Bold, 10–13/12–15.6 | Body 8–9/10.8–12

The objective of this project was for one to familiarize themselves with grids while prioritizing strong typesetting, content organization, information flow, asymmetrical composition, and hierarchy. Mrs Eaves was the only allowed typeface and the grid had to be five columns with a 1p0 gutter. One could also only use one color, although tints were allowed.

My designs all include a large number five and large title, using size to emphasize the importance of the title. The same minty green color is also used throughout all three compositions. I chose to stray away from using a modular grid as I didn’t want to further restrict myself.

This project was the most challenging of the semester for me. Organizing so much information in such a strict way quickly became overwhelming. I am also not a fan of Mrs Eaves, which furthered my frustration. I don’t often work with serif typefaces, nor typefaces with awkward characters and loose spacing, so it made for a completely new experience. In the end, I was relatively happy with the product, although it doesn’t feel true to my identity and style.

This project pushed me out of my comfort zone, forcing me to grow quickly, and while I’m grateful for all I learned, I wish to never work within these specifications again.

--

--