12 Free Online Yoga and Fitness Classes You Can Do at Home Alone During the COVID-19 Outbreak

Crowdsourced and compiled for your convenience.

Jennifer Garam
10 min readMar 20, 2020

Gyms are closed. Yoga studios have packed up their mats and shut their doors. Most of us are self-isolating at home right now, if our work doesn’t require us to be out in the world. But even though life as we knew it has come to a screeching halt, we still need to exercise for our physical and mental health.

Last year I underwent treatment for Stage 3c ovarian cancer. Prior to my cancer diagnosis, I’d done yoga for 20 years and, living in Brooklyn, walked almost everywhere. But I didn’t do any cardio workouts. Post-treatment, I had a session with an integrative oncologist who recommended that I add cardio to my weekly exercise regimen, and do it a significant amount. In addition, as this past winter approached, my psychiatrist told me that I should do some form of cardiovascular exercise for at least 20 minutes, at least three times a week, to ease symptoms of depression and anxiety.

During the periods when I was able to exercise while I was undergoing cancer treatment, I continued with gentle forms of yoga, and I also joined a gym and started working out on the elliptical. This routine was getting repetitive and boring, so this past summer, as I was…

--

--

Jennifer Garam

Ovarian Cancer Stage 3c Survivor • BRCA1+ • Journalist • Speaker • Advocate www.jennifergaram.com