Little Pillars

Jennifer Zeoli
Athena Talks
Published in
2 min readDec 1, 2016

Today, I sat at my desk and read blogs, articles, emails in an attempt to feel motivated to do something great.

I didn’t have any “pressing” issues to address, a conference call that was nice, some follow up items that I handled fairly quickly.

I did the absolute bare minimum. I was unproductive and feel guilty for having taken up space, electricity and time to produce absolutely nothing of value.

My guilt is curbed only by the fact that on a daily basis, even while being highly “productive”, I don’t actually produce anything.

I don’t “make” anything. I don’t change anything. I don’t improve upon anything. or create anything.

I analyze things that already exist, in order to occupy space that already exists, with people and businesses that were developed long before me. Who pay me to pay others, for loans I don’t have.

I build spaces inside already existent spaces, which will never be bigger than they already are.

To serve purposes I will never be involved in. For businesses that will never earn me any money.

I handle legal documents I didn’t draft, for people who I will never meet.

I generate budgets based on costs I didn’t estimate, for work I will manage, but not do.

I estimate costs for problems that may never occur, based on past records developed by other people.

I plug numbers into a system to decide rates for space, empty space I will never occupy that will never provide someone shelter or solve some environmental problem.

I pay bills for perfect grass I will never walk on. Lights I don’t use. Water I don’t need. And trash that isn’t mine.

I drive around looking for mistakes people make, to fix them and charge the people for it.

I follow procedures I didn’t dictate from policies I didn’t draft.

I didn’t build anything today. But I could be the nails.

--

--

Jennifer Zeoli
Athena Talks

Amateur Writer. CHD adult. Lover. Fighter. Etc. Etc.