Image by Freepik

Employment, Hiring, Human Resources

The Risk of Candidate Ghosting

Jennifer Nilsen
3 min readJan 12, 2024

--

I recently had a conversation with someone with several years of experience hiring for positions in the hospitality industry, who said that when she interviews potential employees, she treats them like guests.

It was a timely conversation that resonated with me because, in recent weeks, I had interviewed for not one but two different positions with the same national organization and had quite the opposite experience.

I was a victim of “candidate ghosting.”

I had done everything one does to prepare. I reviewed the positions’ details, researched the company, its values, culture, and careers section, and prepared a few questions for the interviewer.

Both interviews were conducted virtually. I dressed the part, set up appropriate lighting, logged in 30 minutes prior, checked all my technology, and tested it beforehand to ensure everything worked.

After the first interview (which included three organization members and lasted one hour), I was told I would hear back within a week. I was instructed to contact the Human Resources (HR) Coordinator who had set up our meeting if I had any questions or wished to follow up.

Immediately following the interview, I sent a “Thank You” email. Then, a couple of days later, I followed up to check the status and see if the interviewers needed additional information or had further questions, to which I received no response. I sent two or three more emails over the next week and a half and received no response.

Despite feeling disappointed about the lack of communication, I kept the interview for the second position I had applied for. I prepared as before, logged in early, and waited in the virtual waiting room for the host to start the meeting.

Five or six minutes passed, and the host had not joined the meeting. I started to get worried. Had I clicked the wrong meeting link? Is the platform not working? Did I get the day/time wrong?

I decided to leave the meeting and rejoin, double-checking to ensure I had the correct information and links, and again, I waited. At the same time, I emailed the HR Coordinator who set up the meeting (who was different than the one assigned to my first interview) twice to let them know the situation.

I wondered if the interviewer had an emergency. But wouldn’t someone else reach out to me if that were the case? The interview was scheduled for 30 minutes, and I waited until the 20-minute mark before finally leaving the meeting. I followed up one last time with no response and decided I would no longer pursue a position with this organization.

While I was not applying for a position in the hospitality industry, I believe the practice of treating potential candidates like a “guest” should apply no matter what the industry.

Whether the potential employee is the right fit for the position, they may still be a potential guest, visitor, patron, patient, etc. They may be one already. That may be the reason they applied for the position in the first place. They want to work for an organization that they already support.

Potential employees gain a first impression of who they will work for and with through the interview process. It is like a virtual welcome mat. Follow-up is a crucial part of that process. Even a simple one-line email would suffice over no follow-up at all. It will mean a lot to the potential employee who took the time and effort to apply and prepare for the interview and will be a positive reflection of the organization.

I share this story with kindness, compassion, and empathy with the hopes that it may serve as a reminder to those who are in hiring positions to take a moment to respectfully follow up with candidates to make the process better for all involved.

#CandidateGhosting #HiringProcessTips #HumanResourcesInsights #CandidateExperienceMatters #HiringBestPractices #RecruitmentStrategies #HRChallenges #TalentAcquisition #JobSearchAdvice #CandidateEngagement #JenniferNilsenAuthor

--

--

Jennifer Nilsen

Jennifer is a widow, marketing professional and author of the book "An Unwanted Journey: Embracing Life After Loss" which was released in November 2023.