Penguins at Edinburgh Zoo

Jennifer Tanabe
6 min readJan 19, 2024
Penguin Parade at Edinburgh Zoo Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

Edinburgh Zoo is one of my favorite places to visit, and the penguins are surely my most favorite inhabitants! Not only are they fascinating to watch in their enclosure, which is pretty big and of course has a large area of water that they jump into and swim around in, they also take a walk outside every day — the penguin parade! They seem to really enjoy their walk, as do all the visitors and even the staff who take care of them.

But perhaps the best thing about Edinburgh Zoo is that we can watch them live from anywhere in the world via their live “penguin cam”! Check it out, and you’ll be fascinated (just remember to watch during daylight hours in Edinburgh, they don’t have lights at night).

Edinburgh Zoo

The Royal Zoological Society of Scotland was founded in 1909, and 4 years later Edinburgh Zoo opened in July 1913 on 82 acres of parkland on Corstorphine Hill. When I was young I didn’t always like zoos so much because the animals were stuck in cages and looked miserable. When I visited Edinburgh Zoo, however, I got excited. There were several large, open enclosures for the different species, with ditches and moats to separate the animals from the visitors. They didn’t seem miserable! And I loved the penguins, especially when they came out and walked around doing their Penguin Parade!

--

--

Jennifer Tanabe

I was born and raised in Scotland, studied at the University of Edinburgh. I currently live in the Mid Hudson Valley of New York State with my husband and cats.