Sorry, You Can’t Be An Influencer

Jennifer Chan
Simple, Not Easy
Published in
3 min readJun 3, 2018

--

I don’t mean to crush your dreams.

It’s not that I have anything against influencers or am slighting their talents. The problem that I have is that people are attracted to their job because it seems glamorous.

You mean I can take beautiful, curated photos and companies will pay me thousands of dollars? You mean I can work whenever and however I want, and show off my creative side? Where’s the dotted line that you want me to sign?

Let’s dissect the role of an influencer on Instagram. What’s their actual job?

  • Find the perfect location/backdrop for the photo (that sometimes entails traveling if that means the advertisement will make more sense)
  • Rent or purchase the right equipment
  • Purchase clothes and/or accessories that aligns with the theme of the photo
  • Write excellent copy that summarizes the features of the product, while maintaining authentic to their readers.
  • Edit the shit out of the photo in post-production to make sure it looks flawless
  • Negotiate pricing and terms with PR companies

Out of all the influencers on Instagram, I only follow one. Although I recognize that he gets paid to create phenomenal advertisements, I don’t mind seeing his content because…

--

--

Jennifer Chan
Simple, Not Easy

Productivity, craftsmanship, and the pursuit of excellence at work. Writing now at jennifertchan.substack.com.