Bearing Witness

jennydwyer
2 min readMar 6, 2022

When Art Speaks What Words Cannot

I have mentioned before that I turn to art in times of strife and difficulty. Mine and OTHERS. It has been here for me throughout my life.

I share with you my drawing from one of those times. Now 11 years later this drawing articulates fully some of my emotions over the events unfolding these past few weeks. For me it shows outrage, horror, strength and resolve. I am beyond words this morning. It is MY Eagle. My husband the other day on our porch at the end of a day said how beautiful my eyes were; he said “You have the eyes of the Aguilar” (eagle in Spanish.) I replied “look and I turned to him. He joked “No! they are too strong!.” Sometimes they see too much for me. Too Too Much……The second piece is a collage using a print of this drawing.

Pen & Ink by Jenny Dwyer 2011 “Bearing Witness.”

Collage Mixed Media and pen and Ink by Jenny Dwyer 2012 “With The Heart Of An Eagle”

IN SUPPORT OF THE UKRAINIAN PEOPLE

Respectfully submitted,

Jenny

--

--

jennydwyer

Retired and loving being comfortable with my true self. Thriving in my own little corner of the world with my loving husband, Kauai our dog and Gizzzy our cat.