Stairway To The Heavens

jennydwyer
2 min readOct 1, 2023

A Refection On The Anniversary Of Her Death 23 years ago

Our lives are a work in progress… as is grief, healing and remembrance. A Progression.

“I know now what I did not then. This is what depression looks like.”

Drawing & Mixed Media December 3, 2022 By Jenny Dwyer A work in progress- the initial laying out. See finished piece at end of piece.

A parent.

Paternal? Maternal? A process of

Impediments? A pairing of souls on a journey.

We have such notions, expectations we are conditioned to expect.

Real people, real personalities seem to be impediments in this perfect union of cells/DNA that came together. A perfect union not realised.

This is hard to see when you are three. Hard to see at three, thirteen, twenty three, or even thirty three.

Behind the door; always behind the bedroom door. When I was able to enter I had a “beds eye view.” I know now what I did not then. This is what depression looks like.

Is this the source of my constant need to move. fidget, stay active. Constant motion. Was she captive in that bed? A captivity of her own desire and making?

--

--

jennydwyer

Retired and loving being comfortable with my true self. Thriving in my own little corner of the world with my loving husband, Kauai our dog and Gizzzy our cat.