The Skeptic’s Whole30: Day 12

Jenny Epel Muller
2 min readJan 22, 2019

--

Friday, March 2, 2018

This post is part of a series. For the previous post, click here. For the whole series, click here.

So after almost a week of unseasonably warm weather, we are snowed in. This sudden storm came along last night and all the schools were closed. Since I don’t have to worry about getting the kids to school on time, I can make something I’ve been wanting to try: potato kugelettes.

These are a Passover staple food and I wasn’t sure if I had the recipe my mom used, so before asking her to go to the trouble of looking for it, I Googled and found a recipe from the New York Times that, with a few tweaks, is totally Whole30-approved. The main ingredients are potato, egg, and onion. They say to dust the pan with matzo meal, but I didn’t do that. I used ghee for all the butter/greasing needs.

So the recipe was supposed to make 24 mini kugelettes, but it barely even made 12 normal-size kugelettes. One cup of grated potato isn’t a lot. But they were good, and I had a few left over.

Then, sometime between breakfast and lunch, the power went out.

That meant I couldn’t have anything for lunch that required cooking, or heating up. So after I made sandwiches for the kids, I ate the rest of the curry cashews and a few dried mango slices and a banana. It wasn’t ideal, but it was the best I could do.

The power came back at 3:30 pm, thank goodness, and I was able to make Pork Piccata with Zucchini noodles. The kids wouldn’t eat the noodles. Big Kid ate all of his pork and Little Kid ate a little of it, and later when my husband got home, Big Kid had some of my husband’s soup. So I guess they both had enough to eat?

The pork chops were flavorful, but a little tough. I did pound them with a mallet like the recipe said, but it seemed like by the time they were done, they had reverted back to their original shape. Or maybe it just looked that way based on how they looked after cooking. The sauce was great. The noodles were a little slimy, but I think probably the fact that they were green was the bigger turnoff for the kids. Actually, Little Kid didn’t even try them. He just heard Big Kid say he didn’t like them. Thanks, Big Kid. :-/

Tomorrow: Company’s coming for dinner!

--

--