The Skeptic’s Whole30: Day 24

Jenny Epel Muller
2 min readFeb 3, 2019

--

Wednesday, March 14, 2018

This post is part of a series. For the previous post, click here. For the whole series, click here.

I had again failed to get it together to make any kind of chia pudding last night, between the late dinner, Little Kid staying up until 11:30 because of that long nap we had taken together in the early evening, and just my general exhaustion after the long, snowy day at home, so I didn’t eat breakfast until after dropping the kids off. But I had a baked sweet potato and bacon, and it was good, and I had a portion of the delicious Indian beef waiting for me for lunch.

Wednesday was a day off, which was great and much needed. I’ve discovered a golden combination: cleaning the house while listening to an audiobook. I started “Little Fires Everywhere” by Celeste Ng, which is wonderful. While listening to it I started thinking, I wish there were more novels for adults that are about, or partially about, teenagers. The teenagers in this book, which takes place in the late 90s, are the same age that the author was in the late 90s, and this gives the story a type of authenticity it would not have if the author were writing about teenagers now, when she is an adult. And listening to it makes cleaning less of a chore. And I get to read a book and get cleaning done at the same time.

That’s mostly what I did during my day off, and had the leftover Indian beef for lunch. Then I picked up the kids from school and made Coffee-Rubbed Steak with Potatoes for dinner. I kind of left the steak in the oven a little too long, out of fear that I wouldn’t leave it in long enough, but it was good. The spiralized potatoes stuck to the tinfoil again, in such a way that I ended up wasting a lot of them, which was a shame because the ones that we had were good. Little Kid ate some of the steak and not much of the potatoes. Big Kid did better but was also more into the steak. Big Kid is becoming a real little carnivore.

When dinner was over, there was some steak left but no potatoes, since so much of the potatoes had burned or stuck to the foil in the oven. I figured that for lunch the next day I could just make one of my homemade hashbrowns and have that with the leftover steak.

Tomorrow: The Whole30 makes a complicated, challenging day more so.

--

--