The Skeptic’s Whole30: Day 28

Jenny Epel Muller
4 min readFeb 7, 2019

--

Sunday, March 18, 2018

This post is part of a series. For the previous post, click here. For the whole series, click here.

I woke up and wanted to make potato kugelettes, but had a bunch of other things to do too, so I wound up making it all the way to noon having eaten only a banana and black coffee. I was ravenous by the time I started making the kugelettes. And as usual, I had been procrastinating on cooking because I was too hungry to contemplate doing all that work. Self-defeating, I know.

This time when I made the kugelettes, I would use double the amount of potato and eggs, since last time the amounts in the recipe only made about half as much as I had expected/wanted. I figured I’d use about the same amounts of salt, pepper, and ghee as last time, because last time I’d found them overly salty anyway. I had half a small onion in the fridge from last night’s soup, and didn’t really know what amount of grated onion it would translate to, but used it and hoped for the best.

Those instincts, it turned out, were perfect. The kugelettes were just the right size and tasted right. I left them in for maybe 35 minutes instead of 25, to account for the extra volume.

It was after 1:30 when I started eating one, so…brunch? Lunch?

Five of them were my lunch.

At 6pm I was hungry again and heated up the leftover Mexican soup, of which very little remained. Afterward I was going to make the Southwest Breakfast-for-Dinner Bowls, but found that the kielbasa, which contained no preservatives, had a “freeze by” date of March 2. It looked okay from the outside, apart from a whitish liquid that seemed to be collecting around it, and I decided I probably shouldn’t fuck around with meat that was two weeks past its freeze-by date. So maybe I’ll just have a bacon omelet or something to round out dinner and then revisit the recipe vault tomorrow.

Two days left! Six meals left! This is the home stretch. I had better plan those meals now.

Tomorrow’s breakfast is going to be the remaining kugelettes (or at least some of them). I just transferred the remaining meat out of the freezer and into the fridge, and what I have left is the ahi tuna and two boneless chicken breasts.

So I could make the ahi for lunch tomorrow, when the kids will be at school. With the chicken, I could make the Southwest Chicken Noodle Bowl, OR I could make the North African Chicken again, since it was so good. All I would need would be two more shallots and another can of diced tomatoes. I’m kind of more inclined to do that, frankly. And have that for dinner on Monday. And then have leftovers of the ahi and chicken for lunch and dinner, respectively, on Tuesday, with a breakfast of bacon and sweet potato (or some such) that day.

Sounds like a plan!

Then AFTER the Whole30 is over…I already have some plans for the rest of the week. Wednesday night, I’ll be out by myself and can eat in ANY RESTAURANT I WANT. Thursday night, I’m making the Grass-Fed Skillet Burgers with homemade ketchup, the same ones I made that other time, only this time we’re having them on PRETZEL BUNS. And we’re having corn on the cob on the side, which is forbidden from the Whole30 but (I think) kind of healthy. Friday, we’ll get a pizza. And I can defrost some of L’s chocolate chip cookies and try them at last. And I’ll probably have a beer, or some wine, on Friday and/or Saturday night.

Then the kids will be on Spring Break for a week, so I have to plan fun stuff for us to do and reasonably healthful stuff to eat, even though I’ll be off the plan. What I’m hoping will happen is I can incorporate a lot of the stuff I learned on the Whole30 into my life, but without having to abstain from so much other stuff. Like I can make meatballs the same way I did on the Whole30 but have them with actual spaghetti. And in general, have a more intentional relationship with food, with more ideas of delicious things I can make that will be really nourishing and good, and not just whatever happens to be closest at hand at any given time.

And hopefully if I lose weight, I’ll be able to keep it off/lose more without having to abstain from everything forever and ever.

Tomorrow: Venturing out of my comfort zone into the zone of preparing rare tuna. (Which, spoiler alert, is excellent)

--

--