God’s Hand Puppet

Jenny Gargarello
2 min readDec 7, 2022
finger pointing up
Photo by Social Income on Unsplash

According to GoodReads I have read 102 spiritual books in the last 10 years. So maybe some of that knowledge seeped into my head, but I am going to write this from the index finger of God’s hand puppet (which is my perspective).

What was there in the beginning? I think probably not a thing was there. No thing. I call that no thing God.

Out of no thing came everything, maybe in the form of the big bang. But if no thing or God was all there was before all of this, then it makes sense to me that God is all there is now.

This made me think of a Buddhist thing my friend says sometimes. The formless is form and the form is formless.

No thing is everything and everything is no thing.

So apparent people all come from the same no thing (God). We are like the fingers of a hand puppet meeting each other. The fingers can be completely unaware that they are just puppets extended from the same source as the other fingers.

When you become aware of your status as a finger puppet, that is like awareness becoming aware of itself.

Then you think that awareness, no thing, God is all there is. Some call it Love.

Welcome to the mirage.

--

--

Jenny Gargarello

Bipolar Mystic. My writing style is a fusion of memoir, poetry, and prompt responses, offering a dynamic and deeply personal literary experience.