On Feeling Alone

Jenny Gargarello
2 min readApr 29, 2023

Just me and the Universe

selfie
Author’s Collection

The world is whirling
Consciousness swirling
I flow from one thing to the next…

But sometimes there is a pregnant pause
and the silence comes crashing in
I am alone again

Or so it seems

Some days life has a full repertoire of lessons and I am so busy learning I don’t have time to just think.

And when I have time to think it is never really good because I start on a stream that takes me out of the flow, apparently.

Because I get hung up on thoughts like:

Am I the only one here?

How come no one shares my perspective?

Where is my tribe?

I shut myself in my room or I sit alone outside. I invite my husband to join me but more often than not he declines. He prefers to be in his own space.

I am fortunate I can entertain myself. I chat with people online (are those people real?). I work on art or I write.

I just want to know does anyone else feel alone in a crowd? Next to their partner? In the middle of a conversation?

I decide I’m not alone. The Universe is guiding my steps. How can I be alone if the Universe is inside of me?

Does love mean never being alone? I don’t think so. Love means having faith that this too is temporary.

--

--

Jenny Gargarello

Bipolar Mystic. My writing style is a fusion of memoir, poetry, and prompt responses, offering a dynamic and deeply personal literary experience.