Take Back Your Time

Jenny B
2 min readJun 16, 2023

--

Do you ever find yourself caught in a never-ending loop, where the first thing you do upon waking up is dive headfirst into the digital world of news and social media? I know I do. It’s become a routine that leaves me feeling overwhelmed, anxious, and disconnected. But recently, I’ve discovered a path to break free from this cycle and cultivate a sense of peace and clarity in my daily life.

Imagine waking up and instead of reaching for your phone, you take a deep breath, allowing the morning light to gently caress your face. In this moment, you choose to disconnect from the external noise and reconnect with yourself. This is the power of meditation and the Dutch philosophy of ‘Niksen’ — the art of doing nothing.

Now, let’s talk about ‘niksen.’ Originating from the Netherlands, ‘niksen’ is the art of simply being, without purpose or intention. It’s about allowing yourself to exist in the present moment, free from the pressure to constantly be productive or engaged.

In a world that glorifies busyness, ‘niksen’ reminds us of the importance of slowing down, embracing idleness, and embracing the beauty of doing nothing.

So, instead of waking up to a barrage of negativity and stress, I’ve decided to make a change. I’ve replaced the rush to check the news with moments of stillness and reflection.

I’ve embraced meditation and ‘niksen’ as my morning rituals, setting the tone for a calmer, more mindful day ahead.

Through meditation, I’ve discovered the immense power of anchoring myself in the present moment, allowing worries about the past or future to melt away.

By practicing ‘niksen,’ I’ve learned to appreciate the simple joys of life — the soothing sound of raindrops on my window, the warmth of a cup of tea, and the gentle touch of a cool breeze.

In a world that constantly bombards us with information and distractions, it’s essential to create space for stillness and introspection. It’s about reclaiming our power and choosing how we want to start our day. So, I invite you to join me on this journey of embracing meditation and ‘niksen,’ to find solace in silence and reconnect with the beauty of being present.

--

--

Jenny B

The cure for anything is salt water: sweat, tears or the sea