My experience as an open-source contributor

Jennymusah
2 min readMar 11, 2023

--

Being an open-source contributor is a rewarding experience. It not only helps you improve your coding skills but also allows you to collaborate with other developers and contribute to projects that you are passionate about. When I first started contributing to open-source projects, I was a bit nervous and confused. I had never contributed to any open-source project so I wasn’t aware of any beginner-friendly project I could start with as there are thousands of projects out there. I went on GitHub and look for projects that used languages and tools I was familiar with. I am a backend developer and so I went for a backend project that seem a bit easy to understand.

I had never worked on a large-scale project before, and I was worried about making mistakes or not being able to keep up with the pace of the project. I decided to start small, I started by fixing some minor issues, such as typos in the documentation and formatting errors in the code. I then moved on to more complex tasks, such as adding new features and improving the existing codebase. One of the things that I loved about contributing to open-source projects was the sense of community. I joined the project’s Slack channel and started talking to other contributors. We shared ideas, asked for help, and provided feedback on each other’s code.

Contributing to open-source projects is not without its challenges. One of the biggest challenges that I faced was dealing with code reviews. It can be hard to receive feedback on your code, especially if you are a new contributor. However, I learned to take feedback in stride and use it to improve my code. I learned how to write better code, how to use version control systems such as Git, and how to collaborate with other developers.

Another challenge that I faced was finding time to contribute. As a student, I had a lot of coursework and other commitments. However, I made time to contribute to open-source projects because I needed to build my portfolio and demonstrate my skills to potential employers and I also saw it as a way of giving back to the community.

If you’re interested in contributing to open-source projects, I encourage you to give it a try!. Contributing to open-source projects is a great way to improve your coding skills, collaborate with other developers, and contribute to projects that you are passionate about. While it can be challenging at times, the rewards are well worth it. So, if you are interested in contributing to open-source projects, start small, be patient, and be prepared to learn and grow as a developer.

--

--