The Show That Normalized Incest

Jennifer Oliveira
3 min readSep 20, 2022

--

That title probably made some readers frown. It’s fine, writing does that sometimes. Warning: there are spoilers.

I didn’t choose to write this opinion piece (that’s all it is) randomly. I didn’t wake up and suddenly go, “I really want to talk about family members going at it with each other.” I chose this topic because I watched episode 5 of House of the Dragon, and that’s a common theme in that world. So yes, we’re talking about that show. Again.

I assume there are people out there who have yet to start watching the show. Perhaps they’re waiting for all the episodes to be released — and if that’s the case, I envy their patience. There could also be those who haven’t had time to watch the last couple of episodes. Life happens. Either way, if any of those people I mentioned kept reading despite the spoiler warning, now is the last chance to stop before I start talking about the important parts.

Yesterday’s episode wasn’t even the one that sparked the incest debate — that was thanks to the fourth episode. In that episode from a week (and a couple of days, I guess) ago, there’s more than one kiss shared between uncle and niece. Let’s be honest, it’s a full make-out session. I’ve even seen more daring comments claim they didn’t just kiss. Personally, I don’t think they did anything else. I think Daemon’s whole point was just to create a rumor, but I do believe they’re attracted to each other.

Some fans are saying he hadn’t planned on doing anything, that he’d just wanted to be seen with her at a pleasure house. Others claim he genuinely cares for her but was surprised that she felt the same, so he ran away. And I’ve even read that maybe he’s impotent. There could already be a right answer in there somewhere, but I confess I wouldn’t know — I haven’t read the books. I haven’t been able to escape spoilers in comment sections discussing the show, the fans who’ve read the books are always excited to share what they know is going to happen in the future. I try not to let it influence my opinion; we all know that sometimes changes are made from books to TV.

I used the word “normalized” in the title, and that was for a reason. We have to admit, in most other contexts people aren’t happy when they hear about uncles making out with their nieces. Is that a lie? Don’t we have memes making fun of those things? Of course, there’s always a couple of people saying, “I think it’s alright if they don’t have kids.” That’s the minority, though. When it comes to House of the Dragon, the ones who aren’t okay with Daemon and Rhaenyra’s relationship are the minority.

Please don’t read my tone as judgmental. I promise that’s not what I’m thinking. All I’m giving is my opinion, I’m saying that this is something that is happening right now. Make no mistake: I’m part of it. I’d be lying if I said that when I watched episode 4 I thought Daemon and Rhaenyra’s scene was upsetting. However, we can’t forget a very important detail: this is fiction. We’re not harming anyone by not thinking this is disgusting. We would be doing harm if we supported those who are willing to marry nieces to their uncles in our world, though. As long as we’re aware of that, it’s OK.

--

--

Jennifer Oliveira

26. Modern Languages BA. Writer. TV Show/Movie enthusiast. Alex's Spilled Ink on Amazon Kindle.