Film Review — Cyrano (2021)

Jennifer Pellegrino
4 min readDec 7, 2022

The 2021 musical film, which first debuted off-Broadway in 2019, gave Peter Dinklage center stage as the title character. He reprises his role as Cyrano in the film directed by Joe Wright and is the film's sole redeeming factor.

MetroGoldwyn-Mayer

WHAT WORKED

Peter Dinklage.

From one of his earliest roles as Miles Finch (Elf, 2003) to his famous portrayal of Tyrion Lannister in the HBO series Game of Thrones, I’ve been a fan. You just get the feeling that he’s never acting. That he really is every character he’s playing. I think he’s excellent.

The utterly gut-wrenching scene when Roxanne reveals her confession to Cyrano was one of the most incredible, pure scenes of emotion I’ve ever seen. Dinklage makes you feel the stomach-twisting pain of unrequited love and the cringy realization that you’re being made a fool. Even with the lingering embellishments of stage acting that he brings before the camera, his performance is effective. It holds the story together and makes the emotions believable.

Peter Dinklage alone is what recommends this movie. 100%. For all of the film's faults, I would recommend and rewatch solely based on the glimpse Dinklage gives us into the devastation of unrequited love and missed opportunities. His last words of the film honestly haunt me. I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who…

--

--

Jennifer Pellegrino

I write what I like. Film. Food. Fiction. Art. Lit. Religion. Mental Health. Nothing is off limits here. I’m a thinker.