Integrating Zotero and Notion

jenstumbles
2 min readApr 24, 2024

--

Managing Academic Research Flows for Futures Projects

Using Zotero for (directed) Academic Research in Futures Projects

This was presented as part of the futures & foresight research workflow and techstack overview at the recent 2024 Houston Foresight Gathering.

Academic research often forms part of my overall research workflow in Futures projects; and I think about this kind of research as “directed” in that I’m usually conducting academic research for a specific topic or theme. It’s “directed” because I have a specific active project in mind rather than just ‘collecting’ broadly.

I save all the academic papers in Zotero which is obviously another kind of citation reference database. If I’m working on academic papers in particular I might also bring the PDF version into Liquid Text — both of which are integrated.

This means that I can take notes, highlight passages and I’ve linked the Zotero citations so there’s no need to go back searching when I need to input more detailed references later on. Likewise if there’s a really great academic paper that’s been really useful, it’s great to have all the citation references handy so I can use a tool like Connected Papers or Research Rabbit to find other papers that have similar topics or citations.

I then bring those references into Notion for a specific project, so I can review both general web research, future scan hits and academic research all within the one Notion project dashboard.

2024 Houston Foresight Presentation : Zotero + Notion

Download it here

--

--

jenstumbles

Futures Research & Creative Strategy | UH Masters Strategic Foresight Student