I took a career break, left a six-figure tech job and I’ve never felt better

Jeneba Wint
3 min readJan 10, 2022

As a Black woman, rest is revolutionary and so are options.

Let me explain. Black women have been conditioned and taught to just appreciate having a job…any “good” job. According to Yahoo Finance, “A key problem is that from a young age, women are conditioned to feel grateful for opportunities that their male counterparts expect to get. For example, a woman in a high position in STEM may feel thankful for their job, so much so that they overlook how qualified they are — or that they deserve their success.”

Just be grateful they said. Just be happy that you have a job they said.

Nah, that’s not gonna work. Issa no for me. I am the prize. Any company that I’m working for should be grateful to have me due to the value that I add and the unique perspective and expertise that I bring to the table. I own my career path and my career progression, so I’m not afraid to walk away if a role is no longer serving me or my career brand.

That said, in December 2021, I joined #TheGreatResignation or #TheBigQuit. For the first time in my life, I quit a job and didn’t have another lined up. I didn’t have a backup plan. I simply wanted to rest and at the same time, I wanted more. I wanted better! My career break is to intentionally rest, reset, and re-energize myself.

I didn’t quit because I hated my job or because I had a baby, which is why most women in America take a planned career break ( news flash…maternity leave is nobody's career break). My short sabbatical is all about me. I’m taking time to figure out what’s next for me and what I want out of my next role. I’m taking time to reflect and discover what new challenges, learning experiences, and new compensation packages are out there for me.

Yes, I am fortunate and privileged to be able to do such a thing, especially as a Black woman in corporate America … in Tech America, but I want this for any women reading this too! I know what you’re thinking and I’m grown with grown woman responsibilities. Sis, me too! I have a husband, big adult bills, two children under eight years old, big dreams, and big aspirations, but I had to do this for myself. Even with a brand new $2,500 plus mortgage which was a huge leap of faith, there was a certain peace and calm about the whole thing. This fueled me to do it even more because I had the option and the opportunity to choose me…to choose freedom, to choose evolution.

I felt the fear and the negativity from the nay-sayers telling me to just hang in there until I found another job and decided on faith to do it anyway.

Here’s What Made The Decision Super Easy

BOREDOM I was burnt out and exhausted with the work I was doing. I hit a ceiling, and ultimately wasn’t learning new skills, enhancing my current skills, or being challenged. I had done everything there was to do in my role and at the company. Job well done and it was time to go. Dueces ✌🏾

GROWTH The role and the company were no longer serving me, no longer filling me up, and no longer giving me satisfaction. For me this means, it's stagnation! It was preventing me from going to the next level in my career, keeping me in a comfortable and complacent zone, and not helping me move forward in the direction I want my career to go in.

PREPARATION I worked a contract freelance job off and on for a few months in 2021 alongside my former job which allowed me to stack my money and build a nice little quit-that-job fund. Financially, I was very prepared for this. The money is residing nicely in my savings account.

PEACE When I thought about quitting my job, there was no anxiousness. There were only feelings of adventure, excitement, peace, and alignment. No stress about bills, money, or if I would get another job. It just felt right!

My Story Is Almost Done….

If you’re reading this right now and thinking, you wish you could…..you can. And you should! Your future self will thank you for waking up and choosing YOU. We have sooooo many years to work (we literally work longer now than generations before us), earn more, get promotions…but when will you have the chance to rest and intentionally take a career break.

Jentrifying Life,

Jeneba @jentalkstech

--

--

Jeneba Wint

Afro Technologist| Empowering Black women to gain career clarity, communicate their value, and demand career advancement Text 📲 2029784072