No A, B, or C

Jeremy Ullman
2 min readMay 22, 2023

--

The wonders of exerting oneself out of doors — wow. One weight lifted twenty times per side; deltoids destroyed; my drinking vessel lying on its side, smushing little soft green spikes. One swig, two swigs, three swigs, four, replenishing lost dihydrogen monoxide while I perspire endlessly, toiling in the summer sun.

Eyes on the prize. I work out solo, the town’s lush greenery surrounding me. I glimpse my red two-wheeler lying on its side, glistening intensely. The twinge in my overwhelmed rods prompts me to shield my eyes.

I smile to the sky, spotting solid white spheres flying from home to third, then round to the umpire: strike three, you’re out! The sheer omission of rules keeps me intently zeroed in on the zigging movements of those toddlers, who surely don’t possess one inkling of knowledge sport-wise.

Rowing motions turn to jumping lunges, then push-ups until my tummy slumps to the ground, merges with the soil, the moisture, the worms. Gross. “Get up you fool, you’re ruining the field,” I think to myself silently. “Ditto,” yell the impish underlings from yonder. How did they intuit my thoughts without uttered phonemes? Godlike yet diminutive… surely oddities of this kind present themselves frequently enough. Or not?

One does not simply envision words emerging from the mouth. However, one study showed how synesthetes do present themselves “hither, thither, unt everywither,” (Dhourmeister, 2011).

My goodness, this is horrifyingly inferior prose. Should I rewrite the entire story? How will my mother respond when she sees this monstrosity?

///

Michael,
I used 50 D’s in this 251-word segment.
Try for 0?
Godspeed.

///

To follow our correspondence:
No A (Jeremy)
https://medium.com/@jeremy.ullman/no-a-69b82ebeb369

No A or B (Michael)
https://medium.com/@michael.smilovitch1/no-a-or-b-62109b2ff04

Jessica Hast via Unsplash

--

--