The Lone Wolf

--

“I am a wolf, quietly I will endure, silently I will suffer, patiently I will wait, for I am a warrior and I will survive.”- Unknown

People usually refer to “lone wolfing” as a negative thing. As a way of running away from something or hiding, or not seeking the help of others. There is a type of shame that comes with being a “loner” or doing stuff by yourself. I’m starting to wonder if, for some, it is part of who we are and not necessarily a bad thing. But figuring out how to operate in this World as a Lone Wolf comes with challenges. A Lone Wolf still needs to have a Community and Family they belong to.

A “lone wolf” might be a Juvenile exploring and finding its own Territory. It’s a necessary time in the life of any animal to leave its Parents (Group or Tribe) to seek their own Path. But also, there are some individuals that just tend to live on the periphery, who serve as “eyes and ears” for the pack. They possess a higher level of Awareness. They tend to be the ones that hang out on the fringes of society and groups, the ones that get way over stimulated in certain environments, who love to learn and will feel most comfortable finding a good corner to hang out and observe.

Lone Wolves like to know what is going on and can pick up subtle bits of information, making connections and linking this to other bits of information. (This is discussed in detail in the book Driven by Douglas Brackmann. Basically, the book refers to a gene mutation that effects how we process Dopamine and how we don’t feel the same kind of satisfaction as others might. It makes us seek doing hard things and really pushing the edges of our experiences. Which sounds a lot like someone seeking flow.)

We are driven by a deep seeded desire to protect and teach others that are closest to us. This is an instinctual aspect of Survival.

We are very good about picking up Intent. This comes through having a strong intuition and almost magical insight into things going on, and especially, those things which are threats or opportunities for those important to us.

A Lone Wolf is like the Scouts of the Tribe. A Scout pays attention and has a higher level of Awareness than others. They are valuable members of the Tribe/Community/Pack because they serve as “eyes and ears” for the group. It takes energy and time to provide this extra level of Awareness. There is a sacrifice and time spent alone processing and experiencing.

Solitude can turn to loneliness if there isn’t a sense of belonging, or if you begin to feel a lack of appreciation for whatever reason. Or more often for me, it’s when I don’t communicate what I need to those closest to me, when I keep inside my story and what I know.

It’s a delicate balance, walking the edge as a Lone Wolf. A Lone Wolf sometimes needs to pull away and explore new territory. Sometimes, it’s through solitude and time alone that we find clarity. It’s in these moments, in the Sacred Silence, when the most important Questions are found.

“Delight in meditation and solitude. Compose yourself, be happy. You are a seeker.”- Gautama Buddha

--

--

Jeremy Bennett, AKA Student of Fire

Husband, Father, Brother, and Son. Wildland Fire is my profession. The biggest teacher in my life is Fire. Sharing my stories is my gift. To Myself and others.