The Wildland Firefighter Foundation

--

Spreading Compassion Like Wildfire

This Blog is intended to be a place for me to put my story and share some of my crazy thoughts. I also want to bring attention to the Wildland Firefighting Community, what it is that we do, what life lessons I have learned from being a “student of fire”, and how others can best show your support.

The best way to support the Wildland Fire Community (in my opinion) is to donate to the Wildland Firefighter Foundation. This non-profit organization supports firefighters and families injured or killed in the line of duty.

Warriors of the West, Episode 1- Fire in the Blood

Wildfire on Ice

2023 Wildfire on Ice Tournament

January 13th Walker, MN

I will be playing in this tournament as part of the Department of Interior Team, which includes players from the US Fish and Wildlife Service, Park Service, and Bureau of Indian Affairs (including Tribal Fire Programs).

This is the one time a year I get out and play hockey. Growing up I was a decent forward but was never good enough or driven enough to play beyond the club level in College.

The reason for the Wildfire on Ice Tournament is to raise money for the Wildland Firefighter Foundation. As I tell my story I will share how this organization has personally helped me and how the wildland fire community leads, learns, and grows through tragic events and failure.

How can you Help?

  • Donate to WFF and dedicate it to “Wildfire on Ice”. If you add “Students of Fire” to this I will know where that came from. I will provide something extra special for those that reference this article.

-Donate items for the Auction.

*Items from the auction and raffle ticket sales bring in the most money from this event. (Past items have included crafts, artwork, wines and gift packets of all sorts, guided fishing, guns, outdoors equipment, gift certificates and vouchers, hockey jerseys, and other memorabilia.)

If you or your organization would like to donate any items for the auction or raffle contact me directly. (It’s got to happen quickly, but I’m willing to get creative. Any support in greatly appreciated.)

--

--

Jeremy Bennett, AKA Student of Fire

Husband, Father, Brother, and Son. Wildland Fire is my profession. The biggest teacher in my life is Fire. Sharing my stories is my gift. To Myself and others.