Change is Weird “A Short Essay”

Dr. Jeremy Divinity
4 min readAug 10, 2017

“Buy the ticket, take the ride…and if it occasionally gets a little heavier than what you had in mind, well… maybe chalk it off to forced conscious expansion: Tune in, freak out, get beat” Hunter S. Thompson (from Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas).

Change is weird. A bizarre, sometimes, but often, self-inflicted circumstance caused by our own conscious actions.

Which may be a reason why we fear change. We fear the truth, that change is in our best interest, because to be self-aware, is actually, kind of scary.

Change is the unknown, the least charted territory.

Currently, I’m going through a lot of change. I recently made the decision to move back home to Los Angeles in a week, which is…weird.

Never would I have expected to move back home. As I’ve always told not only myself but also those around me, that the east coast would be my home for the foreseeable future.

That’s changed, which still…feels weird.

At the same time, I am confident about the decision however weird it may be.

--

--

Dr. Jeremy Divinity

Exploring ways of being. Critical Scholar, Strategist, Writer. Located in Los Angeles @Dr.Yermzus on Instagram.