Yeezy Taught Me: An Essay on the Importance of Self-Awareness

Dr. Jeremy Divinity
8 min readJul 23, 2017

Neither should you strive to be Kanye West. Instead, take strides to have a Kanye West mentality. Where the seeds of self-confidence and self-awareness can bloom.

Yes, I did use Kanye West and self-awareness in the same sentence. Both statements are also in the title of this post, which may have intrigued you enough to click-to-read.

My hope is that by the end of this post, you’ll have some type of understanding of where I’m coming from.

What does Kanye West have anything to do with self-awareness? For someone who is blanketed as a narcissistic douchebag, self-awareness doesn’t even come to mind.

However, Kanye is a self-loving, self-aware artist whose main mission is to push past the critics.

In short, if you don’t want to read the rest of this post, Kanye implants the basic idea that you can be most proud of your work, that you can love your work, and that you can love yourself.

A post on self-awareness and I am using Kanye as a primary example, ironic, I know. But please hear my case on not only how I was able to find self-awareness through Kanye, but also how we can all take lessons from Mr. West and apply those lessons to our lives.

Let’s start off with this line from a past interview, titled “Kanye West Reveals Why He’s So Blunt”:

“I think I’m just lazy. ’Cause when you have to put on some type of façade and make up a bunch…

--

--

Dr. Jeremy Divinity

Exploring ways of being. Critical Scholar, Strategist, Writer. Located in Los Angeles @Dr.Yermzus on Instagram.