Holdin’ court with jovial World War II Private Bud Tucker

Jeremy Roberts
19 min readApr 13, 2018
Overlooked Berrien County World War II hero Bud Tucker colorfully examines his hardscrabble upbringing, stint as a replacement infantry private in Worms, Germany, and growing tobacco and corn in a far-reaching conversation. Upon his discharge from Halifax Hospital in Daytona Beach, Florida, Pvt. Tucker made his way back to home sweet home in Alapaha, Georgia. Here he is seen looking quite dashing with black curly hair and a million-watt smile in 1946. Image Credit: The Bud Tucker Collection

Alapaha, Georgia, resident Bud Tucker generally doesn’t prefer to sit back and contemplate his compelling stint as a replacement infantry private during the waning days of World War II in Worms, Germany. But over the course of a thorough interview saluting his April 4, 1925, birthday, the lifelong tobacco and corn farmer’s lust for life became readily apparent. I was floored to discover that as a four-year-old kid I accompanied my grandpa, Pleasant Hill Missionary Baptist Church deacon and former pastor Paul Luke, to pray for Bill Solomon’s advanced emphysema. Twenty-nine years later the exact chocolate brown couch where I clasped my hands and bowed my head emulating my grandfather praying for Mr. Tucker’s brother-in-law had not moved an inch. Stick around as the overlooked veteran examines his back pages with joviality and a broad twinkle in his eyes. You’d be hard pressed to find a more energetic nonagenarian who doesn’t have an enemy in the world.

The Bud Tucker Interview

I played baseball and football when I went to school at Alapaha Elementary. I finished the third grade in the two-story red brick building that was later hit pretty bad when the tornado passed through in 1952. Only the lower floors could be salvaged. I went one day to the fourth grade, and I didn’t like my red-headed teacher. I…

--

--

Jeremy Roberts

Retro pop culture interviews & lovin’ something fierce sustain this University of Georgia Master of Agricultural Leadership alum. Email: jeremylr@windstream.net