In Memory of Phyllis Somerville

Jeremy Redleaf
2 min readAug 17, 2020

--

When I was twenty-one, I wrote my first short film. It was about an older woman. I had a list of dream names, one of which was Phyllis Somerville who had just come off “Little Children.” And then one day, she sat next to me at an audition. I worked up the courage to ask if I could send her the script. I don’t know whether I caught her at the right moment or she actually liked the script, but she ultimately agreed to be in it. We didn’t even have a dressing room, but she was game. She dropped trou in front of half the crew like an old theatre pro.

Nine Years later, were casting 3rd Street Blackout and her name came up again. We’re making a movie about the East Village, she’s a Saint Marks legend, it made some much sense. We went to her… and she said yes. This time we had a dressing room, but not much else. There was a crazy situation where we had to shoot an 8 page candlelit scene in 100 degree heat in under two hours. This is the kind of thing that would usually set her off, but she didn’t complain once. She knew it was one of those moments to be a team player.

She was salty, but she had this amazing sweetness she was guarding underneath. I’m really proud we got to show it on screen; most roles were happy to let her just be salty.

Phyllis was a journeywoman, a force, and an East Village legend. I’ll always be grateful for the chances she took on me. Raise a glass and watch her on Outsiders, The Big C, Little Children, or Benjamin Button.

Deadline: Phyllis Somerville Dies

--

--