Actually getting to the top of Mt. Everest and not coming down.

koko
2 min readJul 27, 2020

--

I did it. I am so darn happy. It isn’t the kind of happiness you’re expecting. It isn’t that giddy feeling you get when you aced that big test. It doesn’t feel like a shockwave of delight and euphoria that causes your brain to be pumped with 1000 cc of dopamine and serotonin. It’s a quiet victory. The crowd who cheers for me is a whopping number of three which is me myself and I. I finally reached my Mt. Everest. I have truly stopped living in (and off of) my phone.

I’m at this stage where I can truly consider being free of my gadget. It was a very, slow, meandering process. I don’t have what people nowadays call FOMO anymore. It was eating up valuable time that could be spent for more valuable things such as ‘puttering’. I’ve stopped chasing for the next dopamine fix. I don’t look for the perfect high anymore. I have no crutches that stop me from uselessly living vicariously through other people’s stories on Instagram and experiences. I can make my own and not feel the need to be validated by people who don’t give a rat’s ass about me. I’ve stopped looking for that inspirational quote on Twitter to make my day and get me out of bed. I’ve stopped feeling down when I couldn’t find any.

My starter for the day would be a freshly-squeezed Instagram and then a hearty meal of Facebook then some savory Twitter to finish my day.

Nowadays, I only ever open Facebook when I’m waiting on some something or someone. Twitter is completely obliterated from my life (save for the occasional stalking of my girlfriend’s profile so I at least know what’s on her mind). I only watch Instagram stories of the people closest to me. I haven’t completely eradicated social media as you can see. I’m not a caveman. This is just a healthier take on life. Living everyday with a sense of control.

I’m at the top and it is liberating.

--

--