Fallacy of being unlucky

Jerod Butler
2 min readAug 20, 2016

I would've considered myself an unlucky person a couple months ago but, now I know that to be untrue.

I’m going to start this out with something everyone has heard and I will apply it to this situation. Fake it until you make it

That seems so simple, but often it is so hard. I was stuck in a mental loop, like I’m sure a lot of you are. Small things would go wrong around me all the time and I would just chalk them up as my luckiness. But, I’m Irish so how is everything going wrong?

Mindset

Mindset is everything and always will be. If you believe in yourself you will do great things. Just like if you believe that you're unlucky you’ll be unlucky. That's how faking it until you make it works; you make yourself believe that you’re lucky. Maybe not even that you’re lucky but just not unlucky.

There are people like the great UFC fighter Conor McGregor who visualize themselves winning. They go into great detail about how the fight will go. The reason they do this is because your mind then gets trained into believing this will happen. Now to tie this into this situation; you need to visualize things going your way. Imagine the smells around you and even the color of the carpet. The more imagines you place into your head the more concrete the belief will be.

This is the key to anything in life as well, if you want to be a writer but believe you suck. WRITE that's the only way you can change that perception about yourself. Also keep in mind rome wasn't built in one night! Change takes time

--

--