Dolly Parton Shines as Bright at 78 as She Did at age 10

Jeronique
2 min readJan 21, 2024

--

The music industry icon releases 9 Extra Songs on Her 78th Birthday creating a deluxe version of her “Rockstar” titled 2023 album.

Dolly Parton sings Sweet Dreams — via Youtube (My favorite of her 9 released covers)

Let me first admit I didn’t grow up with Dolly Parton, so I don’t genuinely know how bright she shined at 10 years old from a first hand account. However, I’ve watched enough clips of her magic on the internet and television to know a glow like hers doesn’t happen overnight.

Publicity shot of American singer Dolly Parton, 1977
Young Dolly Parton By RCA Records via Wikimedia Commons

From what I’ve learned, Dolly Parton has always shown she’s more than a musician. If you take a brief glance at her contributions to music, and her donations to society, you will see how much effort she has placed into creating a path that stretches beyond music into social change.

While The Dolly Parton Foundation launched in 1998 when Dolly was 42 years old, I’d bet her philanthropic deeds began long before that age. A list of her community commitments was posted by a writer for YardBarker, (but the list only begins with the trajectory of her deeds from the start of her foundation, so I can’t confirm my theory yet).

What I can confirm (and based on the videos I share below for confirmation), is that her recently released album, and her previous works shows her range, talent, and ability to create works of art that will last for centuries.

14 Year Old Dolly Parton Performs in Her Hometown Knoxville Tennessee
Dolly Parton Sings Puppy Love via YouTube (Her first published recording of this track was at age 12)
Dolly Parton Performs World On Fire Live at the 58th ACM Awards via YouTube

I look forward to learning more about the inner workings of Dolly Parton, and sharing what I learn, until then you can enjoy her answers to some of the most popular questions below.

Dolly Parton Connects With Fans Through Wired via YouTube

--

--

Jeronique

I collect ink pens for this reason. Avid storyteller... always reading... always watching... always growing.