10 Lessons I Learned From 10 Years of Depression

Jesh Orquina
9 min readOct 18, 2018

A decade of depression.

TRIGGER WARNING: Please note that although I will be trying my best to keep this post about the lessons I’ve learned, I may mention some things about my depression that might trigger other people (e.g. self-harm, suicidal thoughts) so please proceed with caution. :)

10 years of depression. One whole decade. To be honest, I don’t know whether I should be upset (for having to deal with depression for 10 long years) or grateful (that I have survived to this day). Maybe both?

10 years is a long time for anything. If there’s one thing I’m grateful for, it’s that I have learned a lot of things that I probably wouldn’t have learned if I hadn’t gone through what I’ve been through.

When I started blogging, I wanted to one day be able to talk about my story and maybe try to be an inspiration to others. I am not quite ready to talk about that yet, but I am more than happy to share the most important lessons I have learned from dealing with depression.

1. Until you admit to yourself that you need help, you’re never going to get the help you need.

This is something I tell everyone who suffers from a mental illness. You have to admit to yourself that you need…

--

--

Jesh Orquina

I write about mental health, relationships, and just life in general.