Day 9 of 30 Days of Art: Ceramics Class

Jeska Dzwigalski
2 min readOct 19, 2015

--

What my pots looked like before they were painted and fired.

It’s day 9 of 30 art classes! My BFF and I took a drop-in pottery class a few weeks ago and I finally was able to pick up the finished pots! This was the first time I ever worked with a potters wheel and my pots were, um, less than perfect. But, I think with a few more classes, I might be able to make a better one.

Pottery in the wild.

About the Class The class was at Clay Underground, here in San Francisco. The ceramic studio is in the Tenderloin neighborhood is a bit “special” (as my BFF would say) — but the space itself is lovely. There were a bunch of little studio spaces and about 10 potters wheels set up. They offer “Drop In” introduction classes and a longer pottery series for both adults and children.

Ceramics Class Creations

My first two pots ever!

Although I found spinning the potters wheel to be extremely difficult, I’m surprisingly happy with the way the pots turned out.

Originally appeared at jeska.org.

--

--

Jeska Dzwigalski

Curious generalist, maker, CMX consultant @theBoardlist, mom, cocktail blogger @GeeksWithDrinks | Alum: @SecondLife @Wikia @HighFidelityinc & @CreativeLive