@jessajansen
2 min readSep 21, 2018

The Many Faces Of Addiction

(Photo Credit: David Rams Photography www.davidrams.com)

The many faces caught by my partner, photographer, one who not only I’ve grown with but has been able to capture moments both saddening, other moments of strength. The pain and confusion in my face shown with dilated eyes are of a reality many go through. I was one of them. The drugs helped, the alcohol helped, the sleep helped, forgetting helped. But then none of that helped.

The trauma from my personal issues relating to family, and loss are better handled clean, sober, and in therapy with support. The trauma from my addiction has gotten better, I don’t blame myself every time I look in the mirror. The depression I fight against with medication, and understanding of myself, paired with a fantastic psychiatrist. On my journey of health and life, I am desiring to help others with my story in the future. I have a lot more healing and improving I need to do for myself, my daughter, my family, and my God. I will, and this is another part of the journey, my journey, sharing my story.

If you or anyone you know is battling depression please contact mentalhealthline.org to speak so a qualified person able to help.

For substance abuse concerns I recommend contacting SMART Recovery, apps: Una (formerly Triggr), and Sober Grid. Caron.org I learned about on NPR, and for Georgians, Caron.org/Atlanta.

— JLJ @thisdamsel

@jessajansen

Being a Mom is who I am, and writing and painting is what I do!