United, we eat

Jess Dang
2 min readJan 31, 2017

I had something else originally scheduled for today, but in light of recent events, stromboli will just have to wait until next week.

I know we typically stick to food topics here, but this weekend’s events have hit me in such a personal way that I couldn’t not say something.

I was born from two generations of refugees. I immigrated to the US when I was 18 months old. I learned to speak English thanks to Sesame Street and PBS. I held a green card until the age of 20 when I was finally able to become an American citizen.

I have loved growing up in America. I understand that it’s a privilege that so many want and not very many get, and I’m grateful that I get to be one of the lucky ones every single day of my life.

Because of all this, I have the optimism to always dream, to believe that everyone deserves the right to fight for a better life and to think that things will always get better.

This optimism pushed me to start Cook Smarts, a corner of the internet for people who wanted to grow in the kitchen and improve their health. But even more importantly than that, it’s a place where people from all backgrounds can be brought together by food.

One of the easiest ways to learn about someone’s culture is to share a meal with them. The food we choose so often tells our personal stories but can also show that we’re actually not that different. We all love a delicious meal, we all need nourishment and we all want to do these things in the company of people who can respect our differences.

So with that spirit, I’m going to suggest something that isn’t on your Facebook feed (whether it’s red or blue). Look up an Iranian, Iraqi, Libyan, Sudanese, Syrian or Yemeni recipe or restaurant in your area and break bread with someone, perhaps someone you wouldn’t normally share a meal with. Enjoy it over this song.

Of course, do all of the other things to make your voice heard during this uncertain time but for me, food can always be a source of comfort and provide a backdrop for mutual understanding.

Lastly, thank you to all of those who have ever told us that we’ve helped you discover foods from other cultures and hunted down a new ingredient in the international aisle to make one of our meal plan meals. Your food choices represent a vote for more inclusiveness and acceptance, something the world needs more of right now.

--

--

Jess Dang

Chief Kitchen Cheerleader of Cook Smarts. Trying to fit motherhood, entrepreneurship, friends, exercise and all my favorite podcasts & tv shows into life.