Unsplash — Jeremy Bishop

How we happily broke up with social media

Jess Blackstock
2 min readMar 11, 2019

--

We sent our last Sunday newsletter in July. We said we would be back in September and we weren’t. Honestly, we felt like we’d just be sending you something because we said we had to and when you send stuff from that space you can tell. It’s lame. It’s disposable. It’s filler.

During that time we had lots of conversations about our “digital presence.” Sounds very important but basically we were talking about social media accounts. We weren’t regularly using most of them and every time we talked about them the conversation went something like:

“We should post something on social media.”
“Ugh, yeah.”

Not particularly inspiring.

I know what you are thinking, “Well you need to hire someone or just create a plan and stick with it!” That’s the advice I probably would have offered as well.

Guess what?

We did that. We made a schedule and posted stuff and it felt uninspiring. We tried to hire someone and I kid you not she quit before she started.

So for the third go around instead of saying, “Well there are a lot of things we have to do that we don’t love.” I asked myself something different, “What platforms do I actually enjoy?”

And it was clear. I love writing these posts and I love our videos. So we dropped everything else. For now, I will write these posts and we will share videos on our Sum and Substance YouTube channel.

We want these platforms to grow and we believe (maybe naively so) that we will do that by focusing on great content and stellar stories rather than some contrived strategy.

I have a friend who promotes the idea of slow content. Content that has been intentionally made, edited, curated and offers something more than just click bait. I hope that’s what we offer here.

What you can expect moving forward is thoughtfully written pieces or videos most Sundays and some Sundays we will take a break, which I think we can all agree is good for everyone.

See you next Sunday,

Jess

This article originally appeared in the Sum and Substance newsletter on Sunday, February 24th 2019. Become friends with Jess and Sum and Substance here.

--

--

Jess Blackstock

Do good work. (and some tips on how to make that happen.)