Our Latest Dining Adventure!

Jessica Applegate
4 min readAug 29, 2018

--

Today marks my fiance and my 1 year anniversary, so as to be expected, we decided to go get something good to eat. We have been to Tomo Sushi in Glassboro, NJ plenty of times. Today was no different than any other, besides the fact that we were celebrating our love (mushy, I know). However…today was special.

Today was many things. Fresh. Delicious. Divine. Scrumptious.

We started off by taking some goofy photos of the both of us (naturally).

He loves his Adulting beer from Evil Genius Beer Company!
I was pretty hangry so there wasn’t much of a smile….LOL.

The first delicious morsel to touch our lips was Shumai…a light and delightful shrimp dumpling.

Dip it in the sauce, I dare ya!

After we quickly demolished those tasty little bits, we moved on to ordering the big guns… I forgot to say no to soup and salad, so out came some Miso and leafy greens.

I ate the Miso…
Rob ate the salad…

All was well in the universe.

We waited patiently for our impending stuffed-ness. I watched the men work. They are amazing to gaze upon. They move with such grace and fragility, and honestly, it’s just very cool to witness. I mainly was watching them intently because at this point I was starving, and let me tell you…Our meal did not disappoint.

My meal was placed down in front of me first (probably because the waitress noticed the drool that was starting to drip from my jowls). I ended up getting a shrimp tempura roll (shrimp that is fried in a tempura batter and cucumber), an Alaskan roll (Raw salmon, cucumber, and avocado), and a Spicy Salmon roll (you guessed it…spicy salmon and this crunchy stuff…I’m not quite sure what the crunchy bit is, but it is delicious). I also got three A La Carte pieces… Salmon, Yellowtail, and Pepper Tuna.

Rob’s meal consisted of some other yummy bites. He got a shrimp tempura roll, a Philly roll (Smoked salmon, cucumber, and cream cheese), and a Spicy Whitefish roll (same thing as the spicy salmon roll that I got, only…well…spicy whitefish…heh). He also got three A La Carte pieces: Two masago (smelt fish eggs), and a smoked salmon.

I didn’t try any of his food. I can tell you though that mine was OUT OF THIS WORLD TASTY.

The fish was amazingly fresh and crisp. The yellowtail sushi was the first bite that I had, and it blew my mind. Maybe because I was so hungry. All I can say is that it was incredible. The pepper tuna was absolutely phenomenal, and I always enjoy salmon so that was leaving my belly insanely happy as well.

My shrimp tempura roll was delicious. It had just enough of a crispy aspect to leave me wanting another bite. The Alaskan roll was insanely fresh and light, which made eating it easy and enjoyable. The spicy salmon roll was the perfect hint of hot to balance out the dish. I was one happy camper once my meal was finished.

Salmon, yellowtail, and pepper tuna in front of my Alaskan roll. Mmmmmm.

Looking at these photos is making me hungry again. Damn.

If you are a native South Jerseyan, I suggest you pop in to Tomo Sushi in Glassboro and give it a go. They have lunch specials where you can get a three roll combo for $10.50, and a two roll combo is $8.50 (I think).

I hope that this little food critique was helpful. When I go somewhere that I fall in love with, I usually want to scream it from the mountaintops and let everyone know of the joy it brought me.

So here’s to Tomo Sushi for making my anniversary lunch a great one!

Love Always, Jess

--

--

Jessica Applegate

I’m Jess. I enjoy long walks from my couch to my bed. My children are my life…their names are Gypsy and Pickles. They’re cats…This got awkward.