Thrifted Treasure

Darling Decor
3 min readMar 22, 2017

--

Join our Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/darlingDIYdecor/?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

Hello everyone and welcome to Darling Décor! This week, we are going to talk about the wonders of thrift store shopping.

Gathering furniture to decorate your bedroom and home space can start adding after a couple of purchases but heading to the thrift store is one way you can go easy on your wallet.

Thrift shopping is often a hit or miss experience. One day, you will coincidentally walk in a thrift store during their 50 percent off sale of the season but another day, you might walk about empty-handed. The convenient thing about thrift stores, is that they are always putting “new” items on their shelves so if you didn’t find what you were looking for during one visit, you’ll have another chance during your next!

Today, I went to my local Salvation Army and much to my surprise, they were having a huge sale! I began to scavenge my way through the store and found myself flipping through the multiple shelves of picture frames. Any style of frame you wanted, they had. Some were in brand new condition and others had a little wear and tear. Some of the older frames had a vintage feel (without the vintage price tag!).

After flipping through countless frames, I narrowed my selection down to two frames: one gold frame with rose detailing and one wooden frame.

Before checking out, I perused around for a little while longer. There were many items that would be perfect for another person’s style of room décor, such as lamps, desks and various other keepsakes.

At checkout, I was expecting to pay $5.99 for each frame which was already a deal in my book but they took off an extra 50 percent off my already reduced price tag. I left the store a happy camper. I brainstormed ideas on how I could personalize my new finds.

With the picture frames I just purchased, I could have left them as is and inserted my own photos or art in them but I had something else in mind. Here’s what I did:

I decided to pop out the glass area in the middle of the frame to create a mini clothesline where I could pin photos. It was very simple and very cool!

MATERIALS NEEDED:

1 picture frame

Twine

Hot glue and hot glue gun

Clothespins

And that’s it! Those are all the materials you need for this project.

DIRECTIONS:

1. Begin by wiping down your frame of choice

2. Pry the metal prongs on the back of the frame to remove the glass

3. Measure the width of the frame and cut two pieces of twine at this length

4. Hot glue the ends of the twine to the back of the frame and allow the glue to cool and dry

5. Take photos of your choice and clothespin them to the twine.

And we have your finished product! Hang on your wall or display on a desk. Also feel free to change out the photos whenever you would like.

As for the other frame I purchased, check back later this week to find out what I decided to turn it into! https://www.facebook.com/groups/darlingDIYdecor/?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

--

--