Remembering Jim Flaherty

The day I met Canada’s former Minister of Finance on the Go Train.

Jessica Duarte
2 min readApr 10, 2014

Today I’m feeling very sorry for Jim Flaherty’s passing. He was an extremely dedicated public servant and an exemplary Canadian. He was also my MP and once took the time to chat with me on the Go Train which he rode when he went into Toronto.

Glendon College Students of the Political Science Association: Stephanie Frankly, Heather Hughson, Genevieve Bowers, Jessica Duarte, Christopher Mahon. With David Orchard and Jim Flaherty.

Here’s is a photo of my classmates and I in 2005 at a debate we organized at Glendon College named “Right at the Crossroads: Conflicting Visions of Conservatism in Canada,”. It was an exciting time in Canadian politics with the merger of the PC and the Canadian Alliance.

I was one of the organizers of the Political Science Association at Glendon at the time and when I saw Mr. Flaherty on the train I shyly struck up a conversation. As we spoke, I thought it might be great if he would come to Glendon for a debate on what conservatism actually meant. I mentioned my idea for the panel and he generously accepted. He told me to call his office and tell his secretary to book it in his calendar. When I got to school I called his secretary and the first thing she said was:

Is this Jessica from the Go Train? When do you want Jim to visit Glendon?

Since I had just made the whole debate up on the spot, the next few weeks we scrambled to create what ended up being the best attended event our club had ever planned. David Orchard agreed to come as the “red Tory” on the panel, and UofT Prof. Sylvia Bashevkin was the impartial expert. It was an amazing experience and such an important discussion. Over 200 people attended.

From left to right: David Orchard, Jim Flaherty, Sylvia Bashevkin

I will always remember Jim Flaherty’s generosity in helping his constituents in any way he could. Very big shoes to fill now. A very sad day for Whitby and for Canada.

--

--

Jessica Duarte

Web Developer | Learned at @thisishackeryou | jessplease.com | @AGOToronto Guide | #SambaElegua |#PaintTheHalls | Big fan of border-radius.