The Pitch Clinic: You Pitch. I reply.

Jessica Reed
Pitch Clinic
Published in
1 min readJan 28, 2016

(Alternative name: ‘Jessica Reeds it’) [Thanks Arwa Mahdawi]

UPDATE: THE FIRST PITCH AND FEEDBACK IS HERE

I’ve been reading Query Shark for years. It’s a classic: a blog written by an anonymous literary agent who reviews submissions in public, telling hopeful novelists what is wrong with their book blurb. Sometimes it’s savage criticism, often it’s tremendous fun. I learn from it all the time.

(It’s a good thing I don’t want to write a book, because querying is hard).

I thought I could start the same concept, only with features writing. You send me a pitch, I pick one or two a week {so don’t hate me if I can’t answer all}, and I critique it in public, right here (but your name will be taken off).

Any takers? Let’s go! Email jessica.reed at theguardian dot com with the subject PITCH CLINIC.

PS: Not that it matters, but here’s how to pitch to me.

--

--

Jessica Reed
Pitch Clinic

Guardian US features editor. French. 'We can't stop here, this is bat country' - Hunter S Thompson