This is how you get added to Spotify’s curated playlists.

Jessica Frech Knowles
5 min readMar 8, 2018

You pay for it.

Well kinda. Every panel, every Q&A, every networking event, artists and their teams who operate outside of the label world are asking, “how do I get my single (or my artist’s single) on one of Spotify’s curated playlists”.

During an open forum lead by six of Spotify’s in house crew at Nashville’s Music Business Conference, this question was asked four times in four different ways, all with the same answer.

Q: How do I form a relationship with Spotify curators?

A: You don’t. We’ll find you.

Q: How do I get on a Spotify published playlist?

A: It’s all about the song. If you have a good song, we’ll find it.

Q: How do I get a hold of your playlisters?

A: You don’t. We’ll find you if you have a good enough song.

Q: How can I pitch my song to your playlisters? Is there a public submission form?

A: No. If you have a good enough song, we’ll listen to it and find a home for it on one of our playlists.

*paraphrased

Spotify’s curated and published playlists hold massive listener real estate. It’s only natural for every artist who distributes a song to this…

--

--

Jessica Frech Knowles

Lead UX Designer turned founder | Building Bloom to support alternative medical seekers and providers | Former musician