Why Creatives Should Always Work As Contractors.

This is a personal narrative about a time I worked full-time as an employee.

Jessica Frech Knowles
4 min readMar 26, 2018

My adult life has always been split between working a full-time salaried position and working freelance. I prefer the flexibility of the freelance life-style, but I’m also addicted to stability, a normal paycheck, and the occasional spending on ASOS. It was during a dry work season that I decided to take on another full-time salaried position.

I’m confident in my work ethic and in my work strategy (work hard, but work smart). My skill set ranges over quite a few job titles, and because I’ve always worked in the startup world I’m very okay with wearing many hats.

For this particular position, I was hired as the Marketing Director for a chain of ice cream stores about to launch. Here are a few of the projects I took charge of:

  • building and designing their entire website
  • creating their company slogan
  • building their brand which included a brand guide
  • creative directing and executing their product photos and online content
  • designing their employee uniforms
  • building their influencer list (which included some of my personal contacts)

--

--

Jessica Frech Knowles

Lead UX Designer turned founder | Building Bloom to support alternative medical seekers and providers | Former musician