Her view from the 50 yard line

The Healing Huntress
3 min readSep 4, 2020

Dear son,

It’s Friday night! The weather has changed from summer to fall. Nights are cooler and days are shorter. A sure sign that football season has made it’s debut.

At home, I am ready to cheer you on. Stadium seats are packed in the truck along with my blue team spirit blanket. Your football pin is placed on my right shoulder as if it were a badge of honor. The badge that lets everyone know that #56 is my son.

A few blocks away, you are preparing to take the field. Your ear buds in their respective ears, turned to your favorite song as the beat carries you away to the perfect game mindset. You will soon put on your uniform, tuck in your blue jersey, lace up your cleats and pull on your helmet. Side by side, two by two, your team will begin their walk to the south end zone.

And as you make your way there, I will take my place on the third bleacher from the top, right in front of the 50 yard line.

Once I am seated, I will wait for the moment that you will look up into the crowd and our eyes will connect. At that time, I can rest easy, as I know you see me there. Because making sure you know I am there to support you is the most important thing in the world to me.

The field will continue to buzz as the teams warm up. Refs will have a side conversation and coaches…

--

--

The Healing Huntress
0 Followers

Wife, mom, and board-certified health coach. Lover of coffee, peanut butter, sunrises and sunsets. Yoga instructor and author.