Coach Jim Mora Once Offered to Buy Me a Drink

Jessica Lim
4 min readNov 27, 2017

Sunday morning and a push notification pops up on my iPhone 6 Plus. “UCLA fires HC Jim Mora after 5+ seasons with the Bruins.” It might have been the caffeine from my morning coffee coursing through my body but I yelped “OH NOOOO!”

So we lost over rivalry weekend. And our record this season is a lackluster 6–6. Plus his overall record is 46–30. Ironically, one more win and he’d have the same final record as his predecessor Rick Neuheisel (before he was given the same kick out of the Rose Bowl). Even with a spectacular 4th quarter FG kick against Cal, slim Bowl game prospects, and a quarterback presumably leaving for the draft next year, it’s tougher and tougher to be a UCLA football fan. This week, many Bruins will be going to see their families and inevitably, having this conversation:

That uncle: So, UCLA football, huh?

You: Yeah, I didn’t think we’d be doing that. I don’t what happened.

That uncle: Too bad. But USC [or insert any school like Stanford, Washington, Washington State] is doing well!

You: Uh huh. I’m going to go drown my sorrows in the sweet potato casserole.

End scene.

— —

My first reaction to hearing this news (and reading Twitter reactions from former players) was to think of the time I ran into Coach Mora at Oakland International Airport. I was sitting at the terminal back in January 2016, on my way to Burbank for a trip home to celebrate Lunar New Year. I had just settled down into a black pleather seat when I saw Coach Mora approaching the same terminal.

I know this face. I think this is Coach Mora.

But before I get too excited, I look for a clue to confirm.

No UCLA hat. No UCLA shirt.

Who is that walking with him? Must be an assistant coach. Wait, he’s carrying a UCLA duffle.

Quick, look at “maybe-Coach-Mora’s” duffle.

GIF courtesy of Rebloggy and BBC’s “Sherlock”

Bingo. UCLA embroidered logo.

Now that I definitely know it’s Coach Mora, comes the approach. But my inner Bruin is so excited, I need to calm down. Take a deep breath. Remember that Coach Mora is just a person. He may not want to talk to you. He just lost a Bowl game. On second thought, maybe I shouldn’t talk to him. And, too late, I’m already standing up.

“Hello, Coach Mora? I’m Jessica, I graduated from UCLA and wanted to say hi.”

“Oh hello Jessica! Nice to meet you. This is assistant coach [I forgot his name].”

“Nice to meet you coach [I still don’t remember his name or face].”

The assistant coach can read this play, and moves to find a seat at a table with an outlet.

Coach Mora continues.

“Is anyone sitting next to you?”

I must have mumbled something and before I know it, Coach Mora is sitting next to me. He asks me when I went to UCLA, what did I study, where am I going. Our conversation progresses and I ask him the same questions. He’s on a recruiting trip. He’s hopeful that a player he just had dinner with in Walnut Creek will be commit to UCLA in the fall. But instead of talking about this player’s stats, he talks about the player’s family. How joining UCLA football is like joining a family. He relishes helping players develop beyond the field. He’s proud of all the students and athletes who volunteer and work at the Jim Mora Count On Me Family Foundation.

I have to admit, if I were being recruited by Coach Mora, I’d say yes. He takes the effort to get to know you. He remembers personal traits about his players. He follows their journey off the field, whether it be the NFL or somewhere else.

After a few minutes, he checks the flight status on the tv near us.

“Would you mind watching my bag, I need to use the restroom.”

“Absolutely.”

Coach Mora returns.

“Thank you for watching my bag. My assistant coach and I are going to get a drink before we board — would you like one?”

“No thanks, Coach. I get motion sickness on planes so I don’t drink beforehand.”

The ending is a bit of a blur but I ask Coach Mora if I can get a photo with him before he leaves. His assistant coach takes our photo and they walk away.

Excuse the iPhone 5 photo quality

Coach Mora is walking away from UCLA Football. People can (and will) say all they want about your coaching style and record, but I appreciate you for sharing your time with a student who can occasionally throw a spiral.

--

--

Jessica Lim

Sports storyteller. Celeb & entertainment enthusiast. Fmr Miss Asian America 2016 for Asian representation in sports and media industries.